I hope leagues of scientists spend their lives trying

Science is endangered, not only by fakery and alternative facts. It is endangered when people say “magic” or “angels” or “intelligent design,” as these are code words for, Don’t ask further questions. Wonder can’t be explained. But still, things happen I cannot explain. The unexplainable needs to be where science begins. Maybe telepathy will one day seem as mechanistic as the moon. Maybe one day we will photograph thought or record the energy released by the dead, and even if we never do, I hope leagues of scientists spend their lives trying.

The problem I have with the supernatural is in the “super” part. Describing phenomena as supernatural robs the natural world of its due.

— Samantha Hunt, writing in Lapham’s Quarterly
(discursive, wide-ranging and well worth reading)

I believe what I can feel, and I don’t feel like a machine.

Post a comment

