The Scientism Reformation

Scientism is the religion into which I was born, and it remains the perspective that best suits my temperament as well as my upbringing.  But like a Lutheran or a Puritan, I examine the gospel with sufficient rigor to remark the inconsistencies and lacunae, even to catalog them and subject them to the reductionist analysis that my religion demands.

Inexorably, that analysis leads me toward the same fathomless mystery to which so many faithful devotees have been transported.  On close inspection, all doctrine reveals itself as sand painting, no less precious for the confession that it is but a finger pointing to the moon.

— Josh Mitteldorf

 

Post a comment

